Our History

The Michigan Data Collaborative was established to address the need for a statewide healthcare claims repository. As a non-profit healthcare data organization at the University of Michigan, MDC has grown from three employees in 2007 to over 20 employees today. Our work has expanded to provide data solutions for providers, health-related organizations, and physician organizations throughout the state.

Now

MDC offers a highly secure environment for robust healthcare data aggregation and integration. We developed and now maintain a statewide multi-payer claims and clinical data database, and we provide measure creation and report delivery solutions. MDC continues to work with our partners to add value to the healthcare IT infrastructure and to help improve care delivery throughout the state of Michigan. Some of our current partners include:

  • Michigan Department of Health and Human Services (MDHHS), who we work with on the Patient-Centered Medical Home (PCMH) initiative.
  • Michigan Health Information Network Shared Services (MiHIN)
  • Michigan Primary Care Transformation Project (MiPCT)
  • Care Management Resource Center

Our Future

MDC's goal is to collaborate with other organizations to provide solutions for the evolving and expanding healthcare data needs in our state. Look for news about future projects on our website!


Our Team

Myron Hepner
Director
mhepner@med.umich.edu
734-232-1698

Desma George
Business Development
Director
desmage@med.umich.edu
734-232-1478

Lori Motsch
Project Senior Manager
lbrid@med.umich.edu
734-615-1058

Cynthia Stevens
Project Manager
cnsteven@med.umich.edu
734-232-1698


Susan Stephan
Manager
Customer Service and Analytics
susanmst@med.umich.edu
734-763-7402

Brian Allison
Business Systems
Analyst Senior
ballis@med.umich.edu
734-763-7183

Angie Applewhite
Business Systems
Analyst Senior
ahayes@med.umich.edu
734-232-0655

Justin Bielak
Business Systems
Analyst
bielakj@med.umich.edu
734-232-8258

Jennie Macy
Business Systems
Analyst Senior
jmacy@med.umich.edu
734-763-0094

Ruth Shamraj
Technical Writer
rshamraj@med.umich.edu
734-998-7555

Louis Simone
Business Systems
Analyst Senior
simonelo@med.umich.edu
734-615-3226

Ahmed Wasim
Business Systems
Analyst Senior
awaseem@med.umich.edu
734-232-1674


Alice Stanulis
Manager
Technical and Data Services
astanuli@med.umich.edu
734-615-8296

David Shore
Data Architect
Staff Specialist
dshore@med.umich.edu
734-232-8388

Brittany Bragg
Business Systems
Analyst Senior
bbragg@med.umich.edu
734-232-9102

Jessie Chen
Application Systems
Analyst / Programmer
jingyac@med.umich.edu
734-232-9162

Jonathan Harrison
Application Systems
Analyst / Programmer Senior
jonhar@med.umich.edu
734-232-1698

Steven Huls
Data Architect
Staff Specialist
shuls@med.umich.edu
734-764-9547

Martin Kosla
BI Analyst mkosla@med.umich.edu
734-763-6586

Johnica March
Systems Programmer
Analyst
marchjj@med.umich.edu
734-232-5449

John Miller
Application Systems
Analyst / Programmer Senior
jojmi@med.umich.edu
734-615-0366

Pamela Scibiorski
Data Architect
Senior
pbullard@med.umich.edu
734-615-3355